Friday, June 7, 2013

The Silence of Winter, (the Discovery Series #2) by Wanda E Brunstetter

Book 2 of an exclusive 6-consecutive-month release Amish serial novel.  In The Silence of Winter, part two of New York Times Bestselling  author, Wanda E. Brunstetter's The Discovery--A Lancaster County Saga, Meredith anxiously waits to hear that Luke has arrived safely in Indiana for a new job opportunity. . .but Luke’s call never comes. Instead, Meredith receives news that tears her heart to shreds and leaves her just barely living—and only for the sake of the little one growing within her. How will Meredith ever go on without Luke?

My Take:
2 Stars
Oh, where do I start? I have been putting off writing this review because if I tell you anymore than what the description says, it will be giving away spoilers. Each book in this series is SO short. This story is very predictable. 
I can tell you Meredith realizes Luke still has not called. Tn answer to her wondering if she was pregnant or not, the answer comes along. I felt as if she was depressed to have not heard back from Luke yet. Another man comes along into Meredith's life, and then there is a nurse who comes into play as well.
I am not enjoying this series of books. If I tell you one thing about ONE book, I will ruin the entire series for you. This is not a great way to have a series of books out that no one can talk about. 
What I really don't like is the writing. I feel it is written very simplistically, so a Reader from the 8th grade and up could handle reading this series. I cannott 'feel' for these characters at all. I am reading about them, but I am not vested into their lives at all. 
I know the Amish are allowed to read these books, and they really watch for the new releases to come out, so I wonder if this author is catering to them more so? I don't know. 
In comparing this book with other Amish authors, there is NO comparison. None. The other Amish authors FAR exceed this one in the substance of their stories, characters, and, most of all, can tell one heck of a good story in ONE book, unlike this one.
Had I not gotten this series for review purposes from the Publisher at NetGalley, I would never pay the $6.99 per paperback nor the $4.99 per ebook.
Wanda E Brunstetter is like the 'Mother of Amish writing'. "She" is what started all the Amish writing. I don't understand why is she doing this and it's one question I would LOVE to have answered. I received this book for FREE from the Publisher, Barbour Books in exchange to read and write a review about it. It is NOT required for this review to be either positive or negative, but of my own honest opinion. "Free" means I was provided with ZERO MONIES to read this book nor to write this review, but to enjoy the pure pleasure of reading it. I am disclosing this information in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255,

Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

The Silence of Winter: Part 2 (The Discovery - A Lancaster County Saga) by Wanda E Brunstetter
Kindle Edition
Print Book: $6.99
Ebook:       $3.74

No comments:

Post a Comment

I LOVE Comments so please leave one! After I review the comments and make sure they are NOT SPAM - I HAVE BEEN BOMBARDED WITH SPAM - YOUR COMMENTS WILL BE PUBLISHED HERE! Thanks SO MUCH for your patience and for leaving a comment!!! Comments are ALWAYS welcomed, YET THEY WILL NOT LINK TO GOOGLE+ EITHER DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF SPAM!!! When I say this blog is experiencing SPAM, we are talking 30+ comments PER DAY that are spam! Please understand!! Again, thank you!!